Shining in the Darkness: entry 3, the cave of wisdom

100_7105

Well, I was planning to make a final post declaring I had beaten the game but its been turning out to be longer and more challenging then I thought. That and my work scheduled for the past month has been crazy and I’ve been very busy. When I last left off I was getting ready to tackle the “Trial of Wisdom” which was the last trial before entering the main and final part of the dungeon. I can say the trial of wisdom is longer and more annoying then the previous parts. At times it felt like it just went on and on and on….It also introduces the annoyance of pit traps. Luckily there’s only about two sections of the trial that are littered with pit traps and right before them you can recover maps from chests that pretty clearly tell show you the position of the pits.

I did eventually fight my way through the trial. The monsters are definitely harder but if your leveled well its not to bad though this part is a little mazier then the last trials. So after completing the trial of wisdom your told at the castle that the dungeon proper has opened up and you assess it from the original dungeon way back at the location you first battled KaiserKrab and found the princesses head thing…I forget, was it a tiara? Anyways its about this point in a game that I check a little online to see if I missed anything. Yeah some will think of that as cheating, that’s fine. I’m not a 100% completionist but I do like to get in as much of a game as I can at times, especially if I liked it and this involves doing secret bonus dungeons and fighting super hidden bosses. unfortunately this things can be really easy to miss without help and sometimes the little puzzles to find them are ridiculous, I honestly wonder sometimes how people found any of that kind of stuff before the internet…hint magazines I guess. Anyways I don’t look ahead or anything just usually skip to “bonus material” parts of FAQ’s. Anyways, The one thing I did apparently miss is finding that guy from the inn lost in the dungeon. I knew I was probably supposed to find him but I just didn’t know where he was. you don’t have to find him i think but I figured what the heck. Apparently i literally just missed where he was in the trial of wisdom.

100_7170

BTW, after the trial of wisdom the Trader tent opens up in town and now some of the best and most expensive armor and weapons are available to buy. He can also craft very powerful armor and weapons via the mithril ore and dark blocks you find. anything crafted from the dark blocks though carries some sort of curse but it seems the Hex whip that can be created for Pyra is generally considered advisable to equip. After equipping the best for what I could afford I stormed off to the final four sections of the dungeon expecting a cakewalk. Now, granted I havnt put hours upon hours into this section I can say from my several expeditions that its significantly longer then any of the previous trials and it can tend to wear your magic reserves down.

100_7165Charizard! I CHOOSE YOU!

Its actually surprising how many turns and alcoves and stuff is in this section. The first level is easy enough but it seems to get significantly maze like on the second floor up with plenty of side passages and if you find the Mystic Rope in a chest you can use it to climb up the holes you see to get to upper levels or secret sections. As I was playing in the middle of the night last night I was on the second floor but kept finding myself back on the first. No, I didn’t fall down a pit trap. I honestly have no idea but I was really REALLY tired so I’m still not sure if its some teleportation trick or if I was just on automatic and lost my way several times. I did manage to randomly fumble my way to the third floor and encountered two bosses. One was a palate swap of the earlier jawbreaker looking turtle thing. The second was a massive skeleton thing that slaughtered me so I need to find my way back to him to progress. I do get the feeling that even with multiple trips I’m missing a lot of chests and stuff on these levels. Another danger is random encounters with Reapers and there palette swapped cohorts. These guys are not to powerful but they can cast desoul like the earlier Ghosts and that’s an annoying instant kill. There is a cool effect when moving up from the first to second floor that kind of impressed me.

100_7227

You cant tell from the still but it rotates like your walking up a slight spiral. Well I thought it was cool anyways. So that’s where I am now, The end is in reach but its a slightly tougher climb then expected. I’m pretty positive the next post on this game will be that’s its been beaten though when I’ll have the time I don’t know. I’m still slowly chugging along in Daggerfall and I’ve mad a lot of progress but a lot of that is just guild quests to gain levels so I’m still trying to build some noteworthy material to write before another post on that.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

Leave a comment